RSG Approves Inauguration Of Free Healthcare C’Mittee


The Rivers State Governor, Rt. Hon Chibuike Amaechi has approved the inauguration of a committee on the implementation of free healthcare scheme in a bid to ensure that people enjoy free medical services in the state.
Inaugurating the committee in Port Harcourt, the state Commissioner for Health, Dr. Sampson Parker disclosed that the members of the committee are expected to work out modalities for the implementation of free medical services for all residents of the state.
The members of the committee, according to Dr. Parker are expected to ascertain the cost of implementation per year, how much each group will pay and also work out strategies to prevent abuse and stop non residents from partaking.
The committee, headed by Dr Urial Etawo, the Chief Medical Director of the University of Port Harcourt Teaching Hospital (UPTH), has Dr Tobias Toby, Dr F. Nwidadah and Dr Peter Didia as members.
Other members of the committee include Dr Friday Eze, Dr. Ipalibo Banigo, Dr Dango Kalio and Dr. U Mosika while Dr A. Atamunotoru will serve as secretary.
Dr Parker said the committee is expected to submit its report on or before Novemeber 30, 2009.
In a related development, the state Governor, Rt. Hon Chibuike Amaechi, has also approved the inauguration of a nine-man committee headed by Professor Alice Nte for the evaluation and renovation rebuilding of secondary healthcare facilitaties in Rivers State.
The committee, according to Dr Parker, is also expected to make recommendations on whether it will be better to rebuiled or renovate these facilities as well as recommend ways of making the facilities function more effectively.

Sogbeba Dokubo