RSHA Ratifies Suspension Of 12 LG Chairmen

A cross section of participants, during a public hearing on the Rivers State Pension Reform Bill held at the state House of Assembly, Port Harcourt, last Thursday. Photo: Ibioye Diama

Members of Rivers State House of Assembly, yesterday, approved the suspension of the 12 council chairmen by Governor Nyesom Wike.
Wike had, last Thursday, announced the immediate suspension of the 12 chairmen on the grounds of failure to participate in a state function.
The local government areas affected are Okrika, Abua/Odual, Emohua, Degema, Khana, Gokana, Ahoada East, Ikwerre, Eleme, Andoni, Omuma and Ogu/Bolo.
The Tide reports that shortly after announcing the suspension of the LG chairmen in Government House, Port Harcourt, during the inauguration of Thanksgiving and Second Term Inauguration Planning Committees, among others, the governor sent a request to the House to seal the action already effected.
The Executive request was read by the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Ikuinyi-Owaji Ibani, for adoption, debate and approval by the lawmakers during plenary.
Lawmakers, who spoke during the debate on the subject matter, said the governor’s action was in line with the Local Government Laws, 2018 as amended by the Assembly.
While making his contributions, Chairman of the House Committee on Local Government, Hon Kelechi Nwogu, said the suspension of the council chairmen would serve as detement to those, who might feel that they are above the law.