Minister Inaugurates Committee On Aviation Security


The Minister of State for aviation, Senator Hadi Sirika has inaugurated a ten man ministerial committee on the assessment of aviation security in Nigeria.
A statement from the corporate affairs of the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN), made available to aviation correspondents recently explained that the committee, which was inaugurated in Abuja, is headed by Air Commodore H. Tukur(rtd).
Other members of the committee are Alhaji Abdulahi Ciroma, Mr. Ayodele Obilana, Mr.Akin Olateru and Mohammed Olugbenga Odunowo.
The rest are Dahiru Ance, Alhaji Munzali Umar, Col. El-Mustapha Umar (rtd),Capt. Toxin Adelaja and Capt. Bello Ocheja.
The committee was mandated to identify deficiencies in the overall aviation security performance of individual airports and assess the risks associated with such deficiencies.
It is also expected to provide prioritised recommendations to assist individual airports in addressing identified deficiencies, review Nigeria’s Civil Aviation Security Architecture and identify weakness.
The committees’ term of reference was also to determine the vulnerability or otherwise of the nation’s airspace and prefer solutions to ameliorate identified gaps, as well as identify the vulnerability of the nation’s airports to security breaches and suggest ways to fix them.
They are to also carry out security survey of the nation’s international airports with a view to enhancing the implementation of security provisions in line with Airport Security Programme (ASP), NCAA and ICAO provisions.


Corlins Walter