In Their Hands – Rivers At 49

Rivers State Executive session in progress
Rivers State Executive session in progress
Rivers State Executive session in progress

Mrs Ipalibo Harry Banigo
The first woman ever to be appointed Deputy Governor,
Mrs Ipalibo Harry Banigo was born on the 20th of December 1952 to the Harry family in Obuama, Degema Local Government Area. She was educated at Queens College Lagos, where she also got her higher certificate. An erudite scholar, Dr. Harry Banigo was an excellent student as she won prizes in Biology, Chemistry, and English Literature.
Dr. Harry Banigo obtained a Bachelor of Medicine, bachelor of Surgery from the University college Hospital Ibadan and attended Harvard University School of Public Health for her Masters’ degree.
In the early years of her career, working at the Rivers State Ministry of Health, Dr. Banigo held five responsible offices including Director of Public Health Services, Acting Commissioner, Director-General and Permanent Secretary. In 1995 she served as Secretary to the Government of Rivers state under Military Administrator Dauda Komo while in 1998 she served as Head of Service of Rivers State under Military Administrator Musa Shehu. The highlight of Dr. Harry Banigo’s career is serving as the sixth and first ever female Deputy Governor of Rivers state under Nyesom Wike’s Government in 2016.
Nationally, Rivers women also have left their footprints in the sands of time.  For instance, Amal Inyingiala Pepple, served as Governor of OPEC for Nigeria, as alternate Governor for International Fund for Agricultural Development, African Development Bank and the International Monetary Fund.
Ms Pepple served as the Head of Civil Service of the Federation in 2008 and became the Hon. Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development in July 2011.
Governor Nyesom’s cabinet includes
Hon. Emmanuel Aguma – Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice.
Hon. Dr. Fred Kpakol – Commissioner for Finance
Hon. Emma I. Okah – Commissioner for Housing
Hon. Dr. Austin Tam-George – Commissioner for Information and Communication
Hon. Onimim Jacks – Commissioner for Agriculture
Hon. Herbert-Miller Damiete – Commissioner for Social Welfare
Hon. Micheal Anwuri – Commissioner for Power
Hon. Prof. Roseline Konya – Commissioner for Environment
Hon. Rodaford LongJohn – Commissioner for Local Government Affairs
Hon. Barr. Mrs Ukel Oyaghiri – Commissioner for Women Affairs
Harrison Bethel Iheanyichukwu – Commissioner for Works
Hon. Boma Iyaye – Commissioner for Sports
Hon. Deacon Akie Dagogo Fubara – Commissioner for Transport
Hon. Onowu Chukwu Emeka – Commissioner for Special Duties (11)
Hon. Isaac Kamalu, Esq – Commissioner for Budget/Economic Planning
Hon. Chief Ibibia Walter – Commissioner for Water resources
Hon. Barr. Onyesonwu Monday – Commissioner for Special Duties (1)
Hon. Chukwu Shedrack O. – Commissioner for Energy/Natural Resources
Hon. Princewill Ogbongbula – Commissioner for Youths
Hon. Prince Dr. John Bazia – Commissioner for Chieftaincy and Community Affairs
Hon. Mrs Tonye B. Oniyide – Commissioner for Culture and Tourism
Hon. Dr. Odagme M. Iyenebari Theophilus –Commissioner for Health
Hon. Prof. Kaniye Ebeku – Commissioner for Education
Hon. Chief Ephraim Nwuzi – Commissioner for Employment/Empowerment
Hon. Bright O. Jacob – Commissioner for Commerce and Industry
Hon. Chinyere Igwe – Commissioner for Urban Development
Special Advisers
Hon. Cyril Dum Wite – Special Projects
Barr. Chris Itamunoala – Inter Party Affairs
Hon. Daisy West  – Urban Beautification Parks and gardens
Barr. Shedrack A. Akolokwu – Inter-Governmental Affairs
Prof. Israel Owate – Vocational/Technical Education
Barr. Anugbum Onuoha – Lands
Prof. A.W. Obianuime – Project Monitoring And Implementation
Hon. Isaac C. Okemini – Investment
Hon. Elemchukwu Ogbowu – Budget Implementation/Financial Matters
Engr. Nkem Nwaribe – Project Costing & Due Process
Barr. Okiri Aribitonye – NDDC
Hon. Haney Azuka Ideozu – Revenue Matters
Hon. Kenneth Iroanya Chinda – Amnesty Programme
Hon. Berewari Chris – Employment Generation
Hon. Mrs Toru Ofili (JP) – Sustainable Development Goals
Pst. Monwan Owho Etete – Political Matters
Hon. Chief Okorie Abeleku M. – Conflict Resolution
Hon. IIamu Arugu – Traffic Control/Motor Park Dev.
Hon. Nwuke Anucha – Pollution Control
Dr. George Opuda – Primary Health
Hon. (Barr.) Emma Wonodi – Federal Projects
Engr. Gbara N. Bavure – Rural Development
Hon. Fred Attong
Sir Emmanuel Ekpirikpo
Barr. Otonye Briggs
Hon. Andrew Nwanjoku
Hon. Godwin Ejim Nwanyanwu
Dr. B.E.N. Thom-Otuya
Dr. Akpilla, Scott Bernard
Barr. Jones Ogbonda
Barr. Emma I. Utchay
Mr. John I. Nwachukwu
Hon. Opakirite Jackreece
Barr. George Ariohu
Mr. Bereni Ben Irisofe
Hon. Victor D. Ekaro
Hon. Deinma Iyalla