Nebo’s Aide Among 23 Fellow On World Energy


The Senior Policy Ad
viser to the Minister of Power, Ms Ifeoma Malo, has been selected into the prestigious Eisenhower Multi National Programme holding this month in the United States of America.
Malo, who is one of two Nigerians admitted into the programme, is expected to use the opportunity to explore ways to design better energy sustainability plans in Nigeria, encourage energy innovation through the use of small and medium scale technologies, particularly in the renewable energy field.
The co-founder and managing director of Sahel Capital, Mr Mezuo Nwuneli, selected alongside Malo from Nigeria, are amongst 23 fellows selected this year from across six continents for the fellowship.
The programme is also expected to provide Malo with skills to explore ways to build and strengthen greater local capacity in Nigeria’s electricity industries.
In his welcome statement to the 2015 fellows the president of the Eisenhower Fellowship, George De Lama, stated that like the more than 2,000 fellows who have come before them, the impact they would achieve will reflect their passion, hard-work and commitment to the fellowship’s objective towards making the world more peaceful and prosperous.
Also remarking, the senior director of the Global Fellows Network, Ms Diane Shoemaker, noted that the bond that unites Eisenhower Fellows is a strong one that has stood the test of time.
“For over 60 years, Eisenhower fellows have made their mark as leaders, bettering the world around them”, she said.
Reacting to her selection into the Fellowship, Malo said it is both an honour and privilege to be part of the world’s most talented and unique group of people, many of whom have made and are making sacrifices to better the world around them.
“It challenges you to do more and more importantly to aspire to serve more. It is not a charge that we will take lightly and I intend to spend the rest of my life to better the communities that I serve”, she said.
The Eisehower Fellowships is a private, non-profit organisation created 60 years ago by a group of prominent American citizens to honour then U.S. President Dwight D. Eisenhower.