40th Anniversary: UNIPORT Inaugurates Landmark C’mittee


In preparation for its 40th
anniversary celebrations in 2015, the University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT) has inaugurated a 14-member landmark committee.
The committee is to identify landmark projects that define the uniqueness of the institution since its establishment by the Federal Government in 1975.
In his inaugural speech, titled “Unique UNIPORT at 40 (1975-2015): making Unique UNIPORT  more unique”, Vice Chancellor of the school, Professor Joseph Ajienka tasked members of the committee to work out appropriate modalities to celebrate same landmark achievements of the university.
Professor Ajienka categorized the tasks of the committee into plans, people, projects and publication.
“We are celebrating the uniqueness of a unique university in forty years, so you should identify 40 Unique Alumni, 40 Unique teachers, 40 unique Art Stars, 40 unique sportsmen and women, 40 unique benefactors/honorary degree awardees, and 40 stakeholders for the commemoration”, charged the committee.
While stressing the need to ensure that every activity of the celebration resolves around 40 as a symbolic figure, Professor Ajienka tasked the committee to avail itself the opportunity of the celebration to generate funds to enable the university undertake iconic projects on campus.
He suggested that the pyramid of donations should range from 40 to 400 million.
The Vice Chancellor expressed satisfaction with what he called “entrepreneurial drive” of the university which he said, provides  ample opportunity for the institution to benefit from a development model of internationalization at home through linkages with international and national partners.
It also include affiliation to professional bodies and industry partnerships, noting that such collaborates had contributed towards making the university a centre of excellence in petroleum and energy studies, creating and Performing Arts and Sports.
Ajienka noted landmark achievements of the school to include the World Bank African Centre of Excellence in oilfield chemicals Research; Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board Cluster on oilfield chemicals, and First African Virtual University Partner Institution in open and Distance E-learning in Nigeria.
Others are TOTAL Partner Institution in the Gulf of Guinea and NGREN Node for South –East and South-South Zones.
In his acceptance speech, Chairman of the Committee, Professor Tony Arinze thanked the V-C for the opportunity given members to serve the university.
He urged members to “study the inaugural speech of the V.C to enable them get detailed understanding of the task before them.
Other members of the committee are: Professors Joha Enemugwem, Henry Njoku and Julet Okoh.
Mrs Bridget Nzimiro, Williams Wodi, Dr Ngozi Odu, Edwinah Amah, Ken Umeadi, as well s Chika Chinwo, Emmanuel Amadi, Lt Col. Reginald Isigozo and Miss Obele Wokoma forms the remainng number with Mrs Nkechi Barinua serving as secretary.