‘Why RSUST Reviewed Students Union Constitution’


The Vice-Chancellor of the Rivers State University of Science and Technology (RSUST), Port Harcourt, Professor Bariname Fakae, has explained that the Senate of the institution reviewed students’ union constitution to ensure that students on sound academic standing get into Students Union Government (SUG) of the university.

Disclosing this while inaugurating the electoral committee of the Students Union Government (SUG) for the forthcoming election in the university, Professor Fakae, said that students’ union leaders must be on second class upper division with Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of not less than 3.5 points.

The Vice-Chancellor noted that students union government is a heavy load capable of affecting academic work of students stressing that with the reviewed student union constitution, students who may be affected would not drop below second class lower division in graduation.

Consequently, he urged students who are interested in serving in the next SUG to be prepared to live on campus and also serve creditably as the university authorities would not tolerate indolence and indiscipline.

He, however, charged the electoral committee members to always abide by the provisions of the students union government constitution in screening aspirants to various positions in the election.

The committee has the Dean of Students, Affairs, Professor Kelvin Bob-Manuel as chairman, while members include: Dr. Prince Agundu (Management Science), Mrs Opuenebo Owei (Environmental Sciences), Dr. O. A. Mbonu (Agriculture), and Dr. I. M. Fubara Manuel (Engineering).

Others include: Rev. S. T. Puyate (Technical and Science Education), Barrister Aduche Wokocha (Law) and Dr. I. R. Jack (Sciences).

The electoral body also has student representatives who will serve as observers, among whom are Chukwu Chimezie, Christian Tonye, Dike Precious, Needam Constance, Ikechi Solomon, Okah Okechukwu and Owo Eriente Secondus.

The chairman of the committee, Prof. Bob-Manuel thanked the Vice-Chancellor for giving members the opportunity to serve the institution and assured that the committee would live up to expectation.


Christabel Agbor