Delta Govt Orders Closure Of Schools


The Delta government has directed the immediate closure of two private schools in Arhagba-Okpe and Ogwashi-Uku in Okpe and Aniocha South local government areas respectively.

Mrs Juliet Agoba, the Commissioner for Basic and Secondary Education, gave the directive on Tuesday, while monitoring the ongoing WAEC senior certificate examination in the local government areas.

Agoba said that the closure of the schools — Deeper Knowledge Secondary School, Ogwashi-Uku and Arhieru Secondary School, Arhagba-Okpe, was because, “the schools operate in un-conducive environment”.

She explained that the schools had no students in junior school one to three and senior schools one and two, yet they had more than enough students in SS III, describing the schools as miracle centres.

Agoba added that the era of impunity was gone and advised those interested in running private schools to ensure that they complied with the rules as stipulated by the ministry.

The commissioner said it was wicked and criminal for anybody who valued education to keep children in an unhealthy environment as places for educational pursuit.

She, therefore, directed the proprietress of New Hope Secondary School, Ogwashi-Uku and the principals of Igun Secondary School, Igun and Arhagba Secondary School, Arhagba-Okpe, to furnish her office with their schools’ registers.

This, she further said, was with a view to explaining the discrepancies in the enrolment sheets for SS II and SS III.