Enugu Teams Dominate Schools Basketball Championship


The Enugu State male and female basketball teams last weekend confirmed their supremacy in the game by winning the 2009 Nestle Milo Secondary School Basketball Championship held at the Indoor Sports Hall, Nnamdi Azikiwe Ultra Modern Stadium, Enugu, organized for secondary schools in the South East Zone.
The Male team represented by Annunciation Secondary School, Nike, Enugu, beat their Ebonyi State counterpart, St. Augustine Seminary Secondary School, Ezzangbo 59 to 46 , while the Female team( also from Annunciation ) defeated Reinhold International Secondary School, Abriba, Abia State 36 to 18 during the exciting meet.
With this victory, the two Regional champions will represent the South East zone in the finals of the Equatorial Conference Tournament coming up in Lagos in October this year
The regional champions received two trophies, cheques for N30, 000 apiece, two cartons of Milo, two basketballs and kits, while the 2nd place teams were presented N25, 000 cheques, a carton of Milo each, two basketballs and kits.
In the same vein, the third place teams also got a cheque for N20,000, two cartons of Milo, two basketballs and kits.
However, there was a protest that Enugu State featured non- female students, during their final match with Reinhold International Secondary School, Abiriba, as their protest is now being looked into by the Nigerian School Sports Federation.
The Marist brothers Juniorate, Uturu, Abia State and Abbot Girls Secondary School, Ihiala, Anambra came third in the male and female categories of the tournament respectively, while both Imo and Anambra male teams were disqualified for presenting non-students for the game.
After screening, their teams did not meet the required nine players, so they were banned for two years, but the principals of the affected teams would be reported to their state government for misconduct, according to the match officials.
Apart from the two disqualified schools, a total of eight schools participated in the championship, as each of the five states in the South East geo-political zone was represented by two schools
(one male and one female school).