Eminent Rivers Group Votes N30m For Community-Based Dev


A body of eminent personalities in Rivers State under the aegis of the Rivers State Community Foundation (RSCF) has set aside N30 million as its first phase grants to Community Based Organisations (CBOs), youth groups and other organisations in the state.

The chairman of the foundation, Prof Nimi Briggs who said this at the inaugural press briefing in Port Harcourt stated that the grant was aimed at addressing the problems of Micro enterprises and micro finance in the state.

Prof Briggs said that the foundation was established by the World Bank to serve as a local grant maker and as a forum that harnesses available resources to maintain a permanent endowment fund to enhance, through financial grants and other means, socio economic development in a transparent and accountable manner for the benefit of communities in Rivers State.

Secretary of the foundation, Mrs. Mina Ogbanga listed the objectives as: support development activities by a broad range of individuals and local organisations, through grants; establish and maintain fund to support the needy by mobilising resources from private and public services; instill confidence in communities by helping to revive traditional philanthropic practices and serve as a catalyst and agent of change by enhancing sustainable development.

Mrs Ogbanga also said that the organisation’s grant making and thematic areas would initially cover health, education, communities in transition,  micro-enterprises and micro finance scheme.

The rest are small scale infrastructure and youth development.

Among eminent personalities involved in the foundation are, Prof Briggs, former Vice Chancellor, University of Port Harcourt, Dame Aleruchi Cookey-Gam, Administrator, Greater Port Harcourt Authority (GPHA) and Mr O.C.J Okocha, former president Nigerian Bar Association (NBA).

The rest are Engr Anthony Abolarin, Director Total Nigerian, Engr Ubaka Emelumadu, Director SPDC,Rev Precious Omuku, Chairman, Rivers State Board on Public Procurement, and former director SPDC and Ambassador Mrs Nne Kurubo, Nigeria’s former ambassador to Trinidad and Tobago.

Also on the board are Prof Don Baridam, Vice Chancellor , University of Port Harcourt, Mr Odein Ajumugobia, Nigeria’s Minister of Foreign Affairs and Mrs Mina Ogbanga, social reformer, who is also the board secretary.